Music and Potential

When I was in high school, I was very involved in music. I was in choir, band, and our school’s touring singing group. (It was nothing at all like Glee. In fact, it wasn’t until Glee came out that I learned that anything like Glee existed.) I sometimes sang with the church choir and played drums for the Sunday School band. Every talent show, I’d try something that involved piano, or guitar. I wrote music. (Most of it was awful.)

Then college hit, and most (not all) of the music students I met were into music I didn’t like and/or were so intensely serious about music that they seemed to have lost the joy. I didn’t have the opportunity to play or sing with others.

And I’ve lost that. I have a piano — which my wife just got tuned today (YAY!!!) — and I still have my dad’s guitar as well as one that belongs to a friend. I have an electric as well that I bought from a friend, although I don’t have an amp and have never played it. I have a drum set in my “man cave,” and I blow off steam every now and then. I have a great keyboard that I seldom play.

In fact, I almost never do anything with music, not counting singing during ComedySportz shows.

And what drives me crazy about this is that I know I have lots of potential when it comes to music. I’m just always missing something to achieve that potential. Sometimes it’s bandmates. Sometimes it’s time. Sometimes it’s software.

Software, because in my head, I have dozens, maybe hundreds, of beats and rhythms and bass lines and… man. I really and truly feel that with the right time and software and knowledge of how to USE the software… and, I guess, now that I think about it, hardware… I could make some incredible music.

But isn’t that kind of how we tend to live our lives? IfI had this, I could be great. If this happened, I could be successful. If I could only do this, everything would be different.

I don’t like that. I don’t have a solution to post here, and I don’t want to leave it as something trite like “So just be happy with what you have,” because even the best advice is sometimes uselessly unrealistic.

But it’s something to think about.

What are my ifs, and how can I make those whens?

This entry was posted in Thinky Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Music and Potential

  1. Patrick Short says:

    Garageband. Just start messing with it. You can learn as you go.

  2. Lummox JR says:

    If it’s software you need, there’s a good MIDI composer called Anvil Studio. I’ve used it myself to create simple melodies, but with my lack of musical education anything more is like the proverbial monkeys trying to write Hamlet.

  3. Katie says:

    I know exactly how you feel. I was the same way in high school. I was in band and I LOVED it. I was googling my aunt’s name the other day to try and find her address for our Save the Dates and a band website from high school thy I didn’t even know existed popped up with my name on it. (not too many people up there with my last name) It reminded me how good I was in band and how much potential I had and how I said as soon as I was done with college I would take lessons again and start playing. I know I’ve only been out two months, but I haven’t taken a single step toward doing that yet and I really need to. I miss it too much.

Leave a Reply

