God’s Sense of Humor – the Abbreviated Post

I definitely don’t have the time tonight to discuss all of this with the intensity that it deserves, so this is my general overview of the topic.

I believe, firmly, that God has a sense of humor. I believe we are created in His image, and we find lots of stuff funny.

And in general, our laughter can often be explained as a response we have when a situation that does not meet our expectations (and is therefore on some level threatening) turns out to be something by which we do not need to feel threatened. (If it is recognizably something by which we need to feel threatened, we don’t laugh about it.) In fact, two things I have read that I believe to be true even if I don’t have a lot of documented support: first, peek-a-boo is the finest example of our introduction to humor (SUDDEN APPEARANCE THAT I FIND STARTLING oh wait it’s Mommy what a relief that was FUN!)… and second, every culture in the world has their own version of peek-a-boo.

Ultimately, that helps me explain God’s sense of humor. He knows that we can find ourselves in all sorts of threatening situations, but in the end, we’re in His hands and we don’t have to feel threatened.

We may not recognize it at all times… but in a way, our whole lives are kind of God playing a sort of cosmic peek-a-boo with us.

I must think on this more.

This entry was posted in Theology, Thinky Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to God’s Sense of Humor – the Abbreviated Post

  1. Carrie says:

    He knows that we can find ourselves in all sorts of threatening situations, but in the end, we’re in His hands and we don’t have to feel threatened.

    I need further explanation of the above. Does it mean that most of the time things work out ok and there was no need to feel threatened? Or that if we are in God’s hands we never need to feel threatened (because that’s how it’s reading to me). Because obviously there are plenty of times we need to feel threatened. I don’t think I need to list them all and make everyone depressed. So. . . I’m confused?

    • strangedavid says:

      The way that I meant is was that if, as I believe, we are ultimately in God’s hands, any sense of threat we feel is ultimately temporary. That doesn’t mean that we won’t suffer in this life, but it is my firm belief that this life is temporary with another one beyond.

Leave a Reply

