Finding My Place

So many people grew up wanting not to stand out from the crowd. They didn’t want attention drawn to themselves.

For me, I always wanted to be part of something, but a unique part, so that I was needed.

To oversimplify: even the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, four heroes who were virtually interchangeable in the looks department, had unique personalities and weapons. That’s kind of what I wanted.

The irony of it is that the stronger you stand out, the harder it is to be part of a team, and the more you blend with a team, the harder it is to feel unique and special. I play with ComedySportz, where we wear uniforms and we mix up our rosters all the time. I’m not even the only guy there who shaves his head…

There are nights where I can look at the roster and I think, “Hey, I would dominate a pun-based round tonight.” But those are the nights that I also think, “Hmmm, we probably should avoid a pun-based round tonight, considering the skillsets represented.”

We play as a team. I have to consider the strengths of the team.

In the past, that’s often meant that I pulled back to help protect others, or to focus on others’ obvious skills.

I return to the ComedySportz field next weekend. I’m playing with two people with whom I’ve never played before. I’ve practiced with one, briefly (so I know a few areas in which she is quite skilled), and the other I just met last week. My usual response would be to scale back.

I think I have to trust them to step up.

Here we go.

This entry was posted in Improv and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finding My Place

  1. Br.Bill says:

    Stay gold, Pony Boy. Shine the way you’re supposed to. Trust ’em.

Leave a Reply

