The Last 5,000 Days

In the last 5,000 days:

  • I have been in 19 states
  • I have performed in 7 of those states
  • I have held 3 part-time jobs, 1 independent contractor job, and 5 full-time jobs
  • I have gone through 4 positions at one of those jobs
  • I have lived in 4 counties
  • I have discussed living in 3 other states but ultimately turned them down
  • I have written 2 complete books, 4 NaNoWriMo projects, and an unknown number of other items
  • I have tried over 100 different beers
  • I have regretted about 3 of those beers
  • I have been in at least 3 car accidents
  • (None of those had anything to do with the beer)
  • I have had 5 dogs, 2 cats, 2 mice, and 2 birds.
  • I have had five nephews and nieces born
  • I have lost three grandparents, two grandparents-in-law, and a nephew
  • I have gone from being a college student with no driver’s license to a full-time employee who drives two hours a day
  • I have never lost at Boggle
  • I have become a father!!!

…and through it all, I have been married to the same wonderful, amazing, incomparable woman.

5,000 days ago today, Ann and I got married. We could have predicted almost none of what brought us to where we are now in our lives, but one thing we always knew would happen: we would stay together.

Some people have asked me how we stayed together when we married so young. Communication and compromise are, of course, hugely important. Making love a decision and not just an environment that you hope doesn’t change. Choose commitment. All of those are important.

But also, marry your best friend. Marry the person that you can’t imagine life without… or that you can imagine life without, but that life isn’t one that you want. Marry the person that makes you a better person. Marry the person that, if you died, you want to raise your children. Marry the person who understands you the best, and can live with you anyway. Marry the person that you would be willing to throw away your life for, but who would never ask you to do that.

I did — 5,000 days ago. And each and every one of those 5,000 days has gone by too fast.

I love you, Ann.

This entry was posted in Family, Husbandhood and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Last 5,000 Days

  1. hellohilary says:

    🙂

    Congratulations to both of you!

  2. DavesAnngel says:

    I love you, too.

  3. atoot says:

    And now I am crying, love you both so much!

  4. sinwi says:

    You know if you can live together in an incredibly small college apartment and not annoy the daylights out of each other that things are likely heading in the right direction. Amazing how fast 5008 days can go… 🙂 I love how whenever I think of your wedding, I can’t help but think of mine, and vice versa.

  5. Kendra says:

    I cried.

Leave a Reply

