At some point, you have to stop.

One of the problems with being a writer is that the editing process holds infinite potential. I still look at the book I self-published several years ago and think about things I would change to make it better. (Realistically, I do want to go back and fix a bunch of typos at some point, but I’m talking about editing content.)

I’ve reached that point with my latest work — I want to publish now, not just continue to edit. At some point, it has to be “good enough,” and I have to acknowledge that when I look back at it years from now, I’ll think, “I could have done that better.”

kjngrcvbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbccccccccc

(Sage typed that last paragraph. I’m sure that in years to come she’ll look back and think, “Yeah, too many b’s in the middle there.”)

Right now, my issue with one of my upcoming books is the cover. I know what I want, but I’m not convinced I can get it, and I’m impatient. I may have to decide to settle.

(Take a lesson, George Lucas.)

This entry was posted in Books, Words, Words, Words, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to At some point, you have to stop.

  1. Angela says:

    Amen, sister. George needs to let it go.

  2. Lummox JR says:

    Being stuck on covers myself, I know what you mean. Of course I’m also stuck on a title for one of them. For me the editing process is basically over and I’ve just been fixing up typos at this point. Surprisingly I’m still discovering them after having reread the thing dozens of times.

  3. Tom n Cristy says:

    God, I live this, too. I’ve had so much trouble lately just getting any of my thoughts out there because I stop after I’ve started and can’t get going again because I reread and see so much that is no longer relevant or I want to reword, but I don’t have the energy or brain space to go at it, so I just don’t go back to it. *sigh* Not all readers are as picky as some of us writers. 🙂 I’m actually reading a book on Kindle right now that I got for a steal (.99) which is so full of typos and editing issues (wrong words, repeated adjectives in the same paragraph, flow, etc.) that it complicates my reading of it, and several people who’ve reviewed it mention that it needs some serious editing, but the story shines through so well that the reviews have been really positive anyway. Nothing’s ever perfect. LOTR was started over three times and ended up with a weird beginning as a result, so even classics have issues. 🙂 Make yourself accept imperfection and share what you have with the world. They’ll (we’ll) appreciate it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

