Hopefully, a good friend in the future.

Sage, I’m writing this on Saturday even though it’s supposed to be my Friday post. On Friday, I had to hold you in the recliner from 4 am to 6:15 am so that you would sleep (although it was pretty fitful at that), because you decided to wake up every 25-30 minutes until that point. Your mother handled that until 4 because I was so sound asleep that I didn’t hear you. Then, I didn’t get home until about 2 am…. so, no chance to blog.

But I wanted to tell you about Thursday night. On Thursday night, you met someone that will hopefully be a good friend in the future. His name is Joseph.

Joseph is five months younger than you, to the day. His mommy and daddy are Hilary and Chris, who are two of our best friends.

Joseph is smaller than you right now, although I’m kind of suspecting he may surpass you by the time you’re a year old — you’re choosing to stay pretty small, it seems. (You’re much bigger than you used to be, of course, and I’m completely okay with you whatever size you are.)

You’re far too young right now to understand friendship, and even though I’m 35, I’m still learning a lot about it too. I had a lot of trouble maintaining friendships for a long time; some of it was my fault, some the other people’s, but ultimately it came down to lopsided relationships.

The best friendships you can have, it seems to me now, are ones in which you can occasionally do something you regret, or be less of a decent person than you intend to, and the other person can let it go because they know who you really are.

Your mother is my best friend. People argue about whether friendship leads to marriage or marriage leads to friendship; I don’t know that there’s a right answer, but I do think that it’s important that if you get married someday, your spouse is also your best friend. Every day I see how lucky I am that I got to marry my best friend. I hope the same for you!

And I hope that someday you and Joseph are good friends — not just because your parents all get along, but because having good friends feels a lot like having family.

Friendship isn’t always easy, but just remember that as long as you try your hardest to bethe friend that you want to have, things have a way of working themselves out.

This entry was posted in Family, Fatherhood, Personal History and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hopefully, a good friend in the future.

  1. Hellohilary says:

    Awe!!!

Leave a Reply

