And now, a joke from my grammar

A man is going on a business trip to Boston. A co-worker who learns he’s never been to Boston before tells him, “Two things you must do when you’re there. One, get some real seafood. It’s amazing out there. I had some scrod there one time that almost made me cry. Two, take a cab ride. I’m telling you, cabbies in Boston are the smartest people I’ve ever met. They know everything, and I mean everything.”

So the man goes to Boston and finishes up his long day of meetings. Remembering what his co-worker told him, he hails a cab and climbs in. Excitedly, he asks the cabbie, “Hey, do you know where I can go to get scrod?”

The cabbie looks puzzled for a moment.

The man teases, “Hey, I thought you Boston cabbies were supposed to know everything.”

The cabbie says, “Oh, I do. But in ahl my yeahs doin’ this, I nevah huhd anyone ask for that in the pluperfect subjunctive.”

This entry was posted in Jokes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And now, a joke from my grammar

Leave a Reply

