Judge Me By My Size, Do You?

The average seven-month-old girl weighs about 17 pounds.

Sage is about thirteen pounds.

The average seven-month-old girl is 26 1/2 inches.

Sage is about 24 1/2 inches (give or take).

She is below the fifth percentile for girls her age. Of course, she was born prematurely, and so perhaps we could “rewind” the age to six months… except that the “average” numbers include lots of other premature babies, and so the numbers really are accurate.

I’m not concerned about this; she’s just small.

But tonight, I realized how small. Our friends Chris and Hilary brought their son Joseph for a visit. Joseph was born exactly five months after Sage.

They are almost identical in size.

Joseph smiled at her from his car seat on the floor of our living room. Sage stood next to the car seat, holding herself up under her own power by gripping the sides of the seat. With a tiny little support from me, she was able to stand there gripping with only one hand so that she could reach out and grab Joseph’s foot with her other hand.

Developmentally, they are both right where they ought to be; Joseph, at just over two months old, still isn’t “doing” a lot (at least not when compared to Sage at this point), and that’s exactly where he ought to be. Sage is hitting all sorts of milestones that are dead on for her age. There is no cause to be concerned for either one.

But good gracious, my baby is small. And when I think of how much bigger she is than she was — she is closing in on being triple her birth weight — I almost think that I’m glad that I didn’t realize how small she really was when she was born.

And yet, despite her tiny size, she is already so incredibly strong that she has pushed my entire world into a different orbit.

This entry was posted in Family, Fatherhood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Judge Me By My Size, Do You?

  1. Helloheather says:

    Lily’s little, too. Right now she’s at 13th percentile for weight, but is under 3rd percentile for height. The other day, we were hanging around while Nathan had his swim lesson. Lily was playing with another girl her size, but I could tell from the children’s behavior that they were very different in age. Turns out, that other little girl was 18 months old. Lily is 28 months old. So…I don’t know. She’s healthy. There are a lot of REALLY short women on my dad’s side of the family. I guess I’m just saying…high five (but not very high) for our girls? 🙂

  2. Br.Bill says:

    Grind up some Oreos and mix ’em into Sage’s bottles. Not that it’s a good idea, but if it’s size you want, this is one way.

Leave a Reply

