No pressure. (No, really.)

So a recent post of mine went to “Freshly Pressed” — a selection of the “best” blogs on WordPress. I was stunned to see that I had nearly 3,000 pageviews in 24 hours, from about 90 different countries. (Seriously.)

And what’s more, I received an amazing amount of positive feedback. My post hit a nerve with a lot of people. I had talked about my grandparents and willow trees and sunflowers and Alzheimer’s and my daughter and fairy tales… and it seemed like I hit upon something fairly universal.

It wouldn’t be accurate to say that I write for myself only, although I certainly do write what I want. I do write this blog as a way of connecting… and last night, I connected with so many people that I was a little overwhelmed and humbled.

And then it hit me. I’m supposed to blog again.

With so many more people following.

I’m not going to be able to go that deep every night. I’m not a spiritual guru or a hopeless romantic. Any of the “newcomers” who went through my archives would see that. Sometimes I post a quick, dumb joke. Sometimes I post virtually nothing at all. Sometimes I rant about football. (That’s coming soon, and probably once a week.)

Now, here comes the typical Strange Tangent™.

ComedySportz leads Group Unity Training Seminars, also known as GUTS. One of the things that we do is have the group try to do an exercise that has a theoretically infinite repeating pattern (except people are bound to mess it up, at which point we start over). A little later we have them do another exercise that has a more complex but finite pattern. People mess this one up too. We talk about how they felt when they failed. Most people don’t mind messing up on the first exercise, but get anxious about messing up on the second. We point out that the “penalty” for messing up in either exercise is the same…. basically nothing. It’s a silly exercise in a teambuilding and training… run by a group called COMEDYSPORTZ, for Pete’s sake.

The pressure they feel is entirely self-generated.

So, yeah. Whether I have my usual 40 or 50 readers, or the nearly 3,000 who read this blog in the last 24 hours, I have no one to please here.

The pressure I would feel would be entirely self-generated.

I wonder how often we really do this to ourselves when it’s not necessary.

This entry was posted in Thinky Thoughts, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No pressure. (No, really.)

  1. sinwi says:

    It’s one thing to sing in the shower when people might overhear you, another thing to get on a stage knowing they will. : )

Leave a Reply

