ComedySportz Los Angeles in eight days.

The last ComedySportz match that I did was on August 31st. Since then, I attended a ComedySportz party, and I ran a ComedySportz workshop… and that’s it.

Work has been extremely rough lately, and has taken up a lot of my time. There’s been enough work focus that I essentially had to take an unwanted hiatus from performing and even attending practice.

I’ve been doing improv for almost eleven years now, so I’m not worried about my skills dropping too much in a month… but I’ve been surprised by how much I miss it. I miss the feeling that I get right before a match that anything could happen in the next ninety minutes.

Fortunately, next weekend, I’m going to get to play a match in which I’ll have even more of that feeling — I’ll be playing with an entire group that I have never played with before. Instead of playing in Indianapolis, I’ll be playing in Los Angeles.

I know about a dozen people in the troupe out there, and I’m really hoping some of them are in the match on Saturday at 8 pm — but whether it’s entirely people I’ve never met or entirely people I’ve hung out with, I’ll be completely flying by the seat of my pants.

I don’t often get nervous, but I’m actually a little nervous about this. And the fun part? I know that the only way for me to get over the nervousness is to acknowledge that I’m going to play hard.

If you’re going to be in the Los Angeles area on Saturday, October 6, at 8 pm, you should come check out ComedySportz Los Angeles. Call 323-871-1193 for reservations. And actually, if you’re going to be in Los Angeles on any weekend, go see it. (Even if I’m not there.)

This entry was posted in Improv and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

