8 years

Today marked eight years that I’ve worked for the same company. The past two years have been terrible, and sometimes it’s hard to remember that the five and a half years before that were pretty great.

It’s hard to believe that it’s been that long. I don’t feel that much older.

I think this may be how aging gets us. We do the same things for so long that we lose track of how much time has passed, and suddenly it’s gone.

Eight years from now, I hope that I’m able to tell my daughter that I made the right decisions when it came to work. Staying for financial security and finding fulfillment outside of work. I hope that’s the right thing. It feels like it.

This entry was posted in Thinky Thoughts, Work and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

