Review: Flying Brickyard Red Ale

Tonight, I have the privilege of reviewing a brand new beer: the one my friend Jonathan and I home-brewed a few weeks ago.

The nose on the Flying Brickyard is very malty, with roasted grain notes that promise a bready flavor. The ale is a pleasant reddish bronze, and it pours with a good head that dissipates at a moderate pace. I was especially pleased that it pours very clear. It has virtually no lacing to speak of.

The taste is surprisingly at odds with the nose. At the front of the mouth are the toasted biscuit notes that I expected, but the hops actually make up at least half the flavor. There is little to no sweetness to the beer in the malt notes. At the end of a swallow, there is a distinct fruity note that none of us were able to place (Jonathan, Ann, and I all tried it today), but agreed that it was much closer to grapefruit than anything else we could name.

All in all, it is not exactly what I expected, but it is a very drinkable beer. At 4.6 ABV, it’s not overwhelming, and I expect it will pair well with meals. If I gave letter grades, I’d give it a B, and I’m totally okay with that for my second (and Jonathan’s first) homebrew.

This entry was posted in Beer, Reviews, Things That Taste Good and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

