Soon, 36.

Okay, I’ll admit. I’m more of a nerd than I let on, a lot of the time.

I’m actually kind of stoked to be turning 36 next week… and the reason is that 36 is such an awesome number, mathematically. Now I will readily admit that I had to use wikipedia to remember some of these exact terms (such as Harshad number).

It’s a square number.

It’s a triangular number.

It’s a Harshad number in base 10.

It’s the sum of a twin prime.

It’s 1 squared times 2 squared times 3 squared, and it’s 1 cubed plus 2 cubed plus 3 cubed.

It’s also the only square number other than 4 that can’t have a two-variable sudoku built out of it.

It’s the only number (other than 1) that is a square triangular number whose square root is also a triangular number.

In complete and total seriousness, when I was 6 years old, I learned about square numbers, and from that point until I stopped keeping track at age 16, my favorite number changed every year on my birthday… so 36 was actually my first favorite number.

Yes. I’m that kind of nerd.

This entry was posted in Thinky Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Soon, 36.

  1. Maggie Carlise says:

    I thought my brother was unique in evaluating the quality of his birthdays based on this sort of thing…but now I see that there is at least one other person out there!!!

    Happy Birthday (a little early!)

Leave a Reply

