Gray Day Battle

Today was a battle of magnification of negative feelings. It was what I’ve deemed a “gray day,” in which I’m mostly in control but get hit with odd waves of despair, with no apparent warning.

Today in particular, any time I felt the slightest negative feeling, my depression tried to latch onto it and make it THE BIGGEST THING EVER.

A customer was a little snippy with me. I felt like I’d been thoroughly berated.

I dropped a stack of papers. I felt like I had accidentally crashed a car.

I was a little disappointed that Sage would give Mommy lots of snuggles and kisses but wouldn’t give me any; it magnified into feeling like the worst daddy ever.

Then, Sage did give me snuggles and kisses. For a while, that lifted everything right on up.

I’m maintaining; I’m doing okay. But man, I wish I knew how to prevent or avoid these sudden sharp waves of brain chemicals doing stupid stuff, and not just how to handle them.

This entry was posted in Depression and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gray Day Battle

  1. cherylz1961 says:

    Just a thought to ponder….
    “Every test in our life makes us bitter or better, every problem comes to break us or make us. The choice is ours whether we become victim or victor.”

Leave a Reply

