Tell Me What Music I Should Hear

I don’t often get a lot of response when I ask for it, so maybe I’ll only get one or two answers… but HEY. What music should I be listening to? New music, old music, favorites, things you’re just now discovering… what has your attention?

I can’t promise I’ll like it, but I’ll try to listen to it.

Name some songs.

Thanks!

This entry was posted in just stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tell Me What Music I Should Hear

  1. HA, HA, HA! This is your mother speaking, and you wouldn’t like my music! I mostly listen to oldies (not often great music, but great memories) and southern gospel. My regret is that almost all the southern gospel concerts I’d like to go to are –wait for it — in the south! Hope you get answers that fit better than mine.

    • strangedavid says:

      Mom (whose picture looks like Dad)… I love the oldies. LOVE them. I have Sage listening to the Beatles, the Monkees, the Animals, the Kinks, the Grass Roots, all sorts of Motown… and I don’t have a strong aversion to southern gospel. (Not a ringing endorsement, I know, but still.) Name some songs!
      πŸ™‚

  2. Katie says:

    I am in LOVE with the band Imagine Dragons right now, most specifically their songs Radioactive, Every Night, and Nothing Left to Say. Can’t stop listening. I actually downloaded the entire album, instead of just buying one song, after seeing them live and I am so glad I did. I think my favorite thing about them is that nine of their songs sound the same. You know how you can hear some bands come on the radio, even their new stuff, and go, “Oh, it’s So-And-So”? When I was listening to my Radioactive I Heart Radio station and I would hear a song I especially liked, I would look to see who it was, and almost every time it was Imagine Dragons. But I couldn’t tell just from hearing it. I had to check first. That’s a sign of a good band, to me. Not being redundant. Means they’ve got something πŸ™‚

  3. mia says:

    I have no clue what you like, so I’ll tell you what I like and let you sort out the rest. Most of these arent btand new releases, but my standards from the past 10ish years.

    1. I’m totally obsessed with a band called The Pines. Kinda folky, bluesy stuff. Fav songs: If By Morning, Rise Up and Be Lonely, Heart and Bones. Check their website for free listening and lyrics. http://www.thepinesmusic.com

    2. Ellis. One of my old standbys. Girl with acoustic guitar. But smart, funny, openhearted. Kinda hard to find some of her older stuff…my favorite song is Broken. Also great is Tigers Above, Tigers Below. http://www.ellis-music.com

    3. If you like good pop, check out Mika. Think Freddy Mercury meets dance music. My fav album is the 2007 release, Life in Cartoon Motion. Standout songs: Grace Kelly, Big Girls, Lollipop

    4. Lily Allen. Pop with an ironic acidic twist. I like the 2006 release, Alright Still. Tje song Smile should give you a good taste.

    If you are looking for a specific genre let me know. We’re musical omnivores in our house and could probably offer up a set of recs for most any appetite.

Leave a Reply

