So I performed.

I mentioned I’d tell you all how it went when I performed someone else’s scripted material for the first time in fourteen years.

Well, I did it.

I didn’t get any “butterflies,” and I’m not sure if I ever have for scripted stuff. Maybe I used to; I don’t remember it, though. I knew my lines, I knew how much flexibility I had if I messed anything up, and I knew that I was going to be fine.

I was a bit uncertain backstage; I had forgotten what it’s like to be around actors (which is half of what pushed me out of scripted shows to begin with). I knew a number of them — several of the actors are ComedySportz players — but it took a while before I started to connect with any of them. (I bonded with one over an arm tattoo.)

When I took the stage in darkness at the beginning of my scene to place my chair and take my spot, I heard a small gasp and a female voice saying, “Strange?”

So that was cool! Someone in the crowd was pulling for me. (Later, I saw friends in the crowd, including a few other ComedySportz players.)

My lines went well. There was laughter. It was hard not to look at the crowd, which was right in front of me, and in the exact spot (altitudinally?) that I would naturally look if I could have.

Really, I can’t think of much else to tell you from my experience. It was a blast, the director and cast were wonderful, the jokes were funny, and it was fun to take a bow at the end.

The biggest thing to me is that I got the chance to cross off one of my ten resolutions for the year. Nine to go!

This entry was posted in Strange Happenings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So I performed.

  1. sinwi says:

    Glad that it went well, not that I am surprised. I hadn’t thought about the fact that you would have to work to not LOOK at the audience, but so true! You need to draw the audience in, but not by directly engaging w/ them like you would w/ ComedySportz…. well done!

  2. Pingback: Three out of Ten | strangedavid

Leave a Reply

