50,093 and Inventor

50,093

by Strange/David

(copyright 2013 David K. Fuller, all rights reserved)

(like, share the link or whatever, but keep my name on it)

The blues are in the hallway,
The reds are on the stairs.
The greens are on the sofa
And the browns are on the chairs.

The purples? In the kitchen.
The pinks are in the sink.
The oranges and the lavenders
Are in the tub, I think.

The whites and blacks and oranges
Fill the bedroom and the closet.
The silvers and the golds
In the den I did deposit.

The living room has yellows
And the dining room has puce.
The pantry has the periwinkle.
Laundry room? Chartreuse.

The bathroom holds the turquoise;
The attached garage has taupe.
The basement has magenta
And the attic, mauve, I hope.

The loft has all the colors
That I couldn’t recognize;
The office has the patterned ones
That dance before your eyes.

Now we can hardly move around;
We stumble like buffoons
Since I filled the house with fifty thousand,
Ninety-three balloons.

INVENTOR

by Strange/David

(copyright 2013 David K. Fuller, all rights reserved)

(like, share the link or whatever, but keep my name on it)

I’ve invented an item that just doesn’t work!
It’s driving me totally bonkers-berserk!
I’ve worked on this item for weeks and for weeks
But it squeaks and it squeaks AND IT SQUEAKS AND IT SQUEAKS
And even when unplugged or stowed in a bag,
IT SQUEAKS AND IT SQUEAKS AND IT SQUEAKS! What a drag!
I know once I fix it, and once it is nice,
That people will want it, whatever the price,
My awesome and brilliant and clever device —
Noise-cancelling headphones made out of live mice!

This entry was posted in Words, Words, Words, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

