I Am Not Yours

They
Say

I am yours
You are mine

As if we
Were belongings
Were possessions to be carried about like a purse or a set of car keys
As if we
Were owners
Were giants
In stature and in
Mindpower
Capable of fully grasping
The totality the immensity the enormity
Of one another

I am not yours
You are not mine
There are places in me you cannot know
There are ideas in you I cannot comprehend
There are impossibilities between us that render us incapable of perfect communication
With you I can be
Senseless and senseless
With me you can be too

I am not yours
You are not mine
I do not fit in your pocket or your mind
You cannot be contained by my arms or my expectations

I am not yours
You are not mine
I am me
You are you

But

But

But

We are us

What they
Say
Does not contain us either

We are us
And we are perfect as us
I and you and we cannot be contained by their understanding or definitions
They cannot comprehend
The totality the immensity the enormity
Of us

I am not yours
But my love is

You are not mine
But your love is

We do not eclipse ((you or me) or (you and me))
But we shine with a brightness
Rendering them
Senseless and senseless

And that brightness —

That is ours.

This entry was posted in Family, Husbandhood, Words, Words, Words, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

