Sage: 33 months

This month has been extra fun, I think. Admittedly, there have been moments that you’ve been very much a toddler, but from the information I gather from other parents, your “acting up” is their kids’ “polite,” so I don’t have much room to complain.

Some of my favorite moments from this past month:

Knock knock.
Who’s there?
Diamond.
Diamond who?
Knock knock.
Who’s there?
Diamond.
…Diamond who?
Knock knock.
Who’s there?
Diamond.
Diamond who?
Knock knock.
Who’s there?
Stah.
Star who?
Gwad I dint say diamond?
 .
Mommy, can I see yoh back hayah?
…Do you mean the hair on the back of my head?
Yeah. Yoh back hayah.
 .
(upon waking this morning)
Hi, Daddy! What does a stegosauwus do? And how about a
ptewodactyl? What does HE do?

.

We’ve spent lots of time playing — you’re getting really good at throwing and catching, and you are fearless on the playground slide — and lots of time reading. You’ve virtually memorized several books.

The other night, I was in the room while your mom read you one of your favorite books, and you were quoting it along with her. I was stunned to hear your tone exactly matching hers. You sound so much alike sometimes.

The one thing I miss is snuggling. You don’t tend to want to snuggle with me much anymore. You want me to play instead. And don’t get me wrong — I love playing with you. But some nights, when I check on you just before going to bed, I think about picking you up while you’re tired just to feel you laying your head on my shoulder.

But I’m so proud of you for the big girl you’re becoming. You’ve been taking swimming lessons at the Y with your mom; you always want to help with cooking and laundry; your memory is astonishing. (“Daddy, can you go get my twicewatops, Zippy, dat was yoh spesha dinosawa when you were littuh and dat you gave to me? He’s downstayas. On da taybuh. Not da taybuh in da kitchen, da taybuh by da couch in da living woom. I weft him daya dis mohning.”)

I don’t have quite as much to say this month, I guess. Last month was a little heavy. So I’ll just cut straight to my advice.

First, of course: be who you are. Always be who you are.

Second: don’t let the heavy stuff weigh you down. All that stuff I talked about last month? It’s rough, sometimes. It can be easy to think about that all the time, if you fall into that trap.

When that happens, I would strongly encourage you to find something that makes you laugh. Laughter is the best. Find a movie you love, go see a show, or just get together with friends to play dumb games. Laugh. When you want to laugh the LEAST, that’s when you need to try the hardest to find a way to laugh.

I love you so much, Sage. Your mother and I love you SO VERY MUCH!

Thank you for being the best daughter we could have dreamed of having.

This entry was posted in Family, Fatherhood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

