Sage: 54 Months

You’re four and a half years old.

Seriously.

That happened a couple days ago. You had a fun evening; you got to go to your friend Lily’s house, and her mother, my friend “Miss Julie,” celebrated your half-birthday in style. You had a party crown to wear, and a chocolate cake with 4 1/2 candles. Lily made you a folded-paper fan, which you proudly showed off.

We picked you up late in the evening, after you’d been in bed for a little while, and brought you home.

And today, you got a new baby cousin! She’s back in Indiana, and you’re counting down the days until we get to go see her.

You had the chance to go back to Indiana briefly last month; I was there for the ComedySportz World Championship, and you and your mom came out. You got to meet a lot of my ComedySportz friends — many of whom you won’t remember — but the one that made you happiest was my dear friend MaryAnn from Portland, Oregon. I’ve been friends with MaryAnn for eight years. She brought you a pink stuffed bunny, and you’ve been snuggling with it every night since. You named it Pinksalot. You made her a birthday card with crayon bunnies in it, including one that was upside-down that you told her was “a funny bunny.”

We’ve started meeting people in the neighborhood (finally). You’ve got offers of play dates and swimming pool visits (which you remind me about nearly daily).

You’ve started playing with words a lot more; today, while getting ready to help your mom make cookies, you looked at the rolling pin and said to me with a smile, “We’re all set for wocking and wolling. GET IT? DO YOU GET IT?”

I think what amazes me the most is that you take the time to ask us questions like, “How was work today, Dad?” and “Are you enjoying your dinner, Mom?” Other kids your age don’t generally do that. Heck, most kids twice your age would never think of it. Who knows, maybe you WON’T think of it when you’re nine…

As always, I’m going to give you the same advice: Be who you are. It’s so important to do that.

My other advice this month? When possible, say yes to opportunities. I said no, a lot, growing up, because I had the mindset that things were going to be impossible to accomplish. Things were too hard. I was too unskilled or unprepared. But you know what? Most of the things I regret are things I didn’t do, not things that I tried to do and failed. Try to say yes. I’m not saying dive into EVERYTHING head-first. But if you think you want to try it, and it’s not LITERALLY dangerous? It might be worth it.

I love you, Sage. Your mother and I both do, with all our hearts. We’re so proud of the person you’re continuing to become!

This entry was posted in Family, Fatherhood, Sage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

